Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Country Duplication

tags: country list, destination countries, international addresses, international destinations
The country names that can be misunderstood or confused with others can create problems for deliverability (see Country Confusion, March 28)  but can also create database quality problems.  Let’s imagine a long-term – and possibly high lifetime-value – customer who has placed orders over a number of years.  This customer could have ordered, without changing location, with an address in different countries.  These duplicate customer records lower the effectiveness of data analysis and of data quality.  The customer’s value can be reduced or the address marked as undeliverable, among other problems.  Here are some countries that should be checked out in your database. 

Former Czechoslovakia:  Czech Republic and Slovak Republic also referred to as Slovakia. 

Eritrea:  formerly part of Ethiopia 

The dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles took place on 10 October 2010.  CuraƧao and Sint Maarten became autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.  Bonaire, St.-Eustatius and Saba become special Dutch municipalities, sometimes called the Dutch Caribbean and sometimes referred to as the BES islands. 

South Sudan became an independent country in July, 2011.  The Sudan remains as the northern portion of the formerly unified territory. 

Timor-Leste:  The former Portuguese colony, annexed by Indonesia, was recognized as Timor-Leste (Portuguese for East Timor) in 2002.  Timor-Leste is known locally as Lorosae.  

The United Kingdom or U.K. is made up of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.  In turn, Great Britain is composed England, Scotland and Wales, plus islands off the coast of this large island.  Technically, the Channel Islands (the Bailiwick of Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey) and the Isle of Man are British Crown Colonies and not part of the United Kingdom but mail is sent through the U.K. 

UK Dependent Territories:
These territories are now called “Overseas Territories”.
British Virgin Islands
Pitcairn Island

Ascension Island*
Cayman Islands
St. Helena

Tristan da Cunha*

Turks and Caicos Islands

        *Ascension Island, St. Helena and Tristan da Cunha now have separate administrations. 

Former U.S.S.R.:
Former U.S. Trust Territories:
These are now independent countries, although mail is addressed through the U.S. Postal Service and the country for mail is the United States.
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Republic of Marshall Islands
Federated States of Micronesia
Republic of Palau

Yemen, Republic of:  Formed by the unification of People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (South Yemen) and
Yemen Arab Republic (North Yemen), tension between the sections of the country remains. 

Former Yugoslavia 
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Kosovo (UNMIK)*
Macedonia (FYROM)**

         * Kosovo is recognized by 65 countries.  UNMIK, a common mail designation, stands for United Nations Mission in Kosovo.
          ** Some countries accept the name Macedonia on mail but “Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” or “Macedonia, FYR” is more commonly used and accepted.  The acronym FYROM alone is not widely accepted.

No comments:

Post a Comment